Kansas Deer Hunting Laws and Regulations
Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism
Kansas Deer Hunting Laws and Regulations
Kansas Deer Impact, Ecology and Populations
There are an estimated 600,00 Deer state wide. The estimated economic impact of Kansas deer hunting is $280 million annually. There are also Antelope and Elk. The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism is in charge of monitoring deer regarding numbers, managed hunts, enforcing laws and regulations. They monitor the balance of deer in relation to economic, ecological and safety needs of the state. They implement programs designed to control the deer population. Damage from deer includes farm crops, plant extinction, forest damage, yard damage, plant extinction, forest damage car accidents and the spread of disease. They monitor the deer population for diseases such as Chronic wasting disease, tuberculosis, lyme disease and parasites. There were an estimated 10,000 Car-Deer collisions in 2010.
Kansas Deer Hunting Laws & Regulations
Kansas law requires that all who hunt on private land have permission, whether that land is posted or not. Optical scopes, open sights, peep sights, and fiber optic sights that do not project visible light or electronically amplify visible or infrared light are legal for all muzzleloader hunting in Kansas. All firearms deer hunters and persons assisting them must wear blaze orange. In addition, all deer hunters (archery and firearms) must wear hunter orange during any open firearm season. A minimum of 100 square inches on the front and 100 square inches on the back must be visible. A blaze orange hat must also be worn. For tagging: 1. Sign permit prior to hunting. Permit is not valid until signed. 2. After harvesting animal, sign, date, and affix carcass tag to animal in a visible manner. Carcass tag must be attached before moving carcass from harvest site.
Kansas Deer Hunting Education Requirements
Youth 15 and younger may participate in Kansas deer hunting without hunter education if directly supervised by an adult 18 or older. Anyone 16 or older may purchase a one-time deferral of hunter education, called an apprentice hunting license, for the same price as a regular hunting license. This license is valid only through the calendar year in which it is purchased, and the holder must be under the direct supervision of a licensed adult 18 or older. Hunter education is not required while hunting one’s own land. Otherwise, anyone born on or after July 1, 1957, must have hunter education. Anyone under 27 years old must carry a Kansas or other state approved hunter education card while hunting. In Kansas, you must be 11 years old to be certified, and may not hunt without adult supervision until 12. Duplicate certificates may be purchased for $11.50 at department offices; $11.75 online.
Kansas Deer Hunting – 2011 Deer Season
Youth and Disability: September 10-18
Early Muzzleloader: September 19 – October 2
Archery: September 19 – December 31
Early Firearm (DMU 19 ONLY): October 8-16
Regular Firearm: November 30 – December 11
Extended White-tailed Antlerless-Only: January 1-8, 2012
Extended Archery (DMU 19 ONLY): January 9-31, 2012
Special Extended White-tailed Antlerless Only (DMU 7, 8, &15): January 9-15, 2012
Kansas Deer Hunting Licensing and Costs
Kansas Resident Hunting Licenses
Resident Firearm Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit – $37.50 for general resident; $22.50 for landowner/tenant; $22.50 for youth.
Resident Any-Season White-tailed Deer permit – $32.50 for general resident; $17.50 for landowner/tenant; $17.50 for youth 15 and younger.
Resident Archery Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit – $32.50 for general resident; $17.50 for landowner/tenant; $17.50 for youth 15 and younger.
Resident Muzzleloader Either-species/Either-sex Deer permit – $32.50 for general resident; $17.50 for landowner/tenant; $17.50 for youth 15 and younger.
Resident Hunt-Own-Land Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) – $17.50.
Special (relative) Hunt-Own-Land Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) – $32.50.
Resident Antlerless-Only White-tailed Deer permit – $17.50 for general resident; $10 for youth 15 and younger.
Resident Antlerless-Only Either-species Deer permit – $17.50 for general resident; $10 for youth 15 and younger
Kansas Non-Resident Hunting Licenses
Nonresident White-tailed Deer permit (white-tailed deer buck, doe or fawn) – $322.50.
Nonresident Hunt-Own-Land Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer buck, doe or fawn) – $77.50.
Nonresident Antlerless-Only White-tailed Deer permit (white-tailed deer without a visible antler) – $52.50
Nonresident Antlerless-Only Either-species Deer permit (white-tailed or mule deer without a visible antler) – $ 52.50.
Kansas Deer Hunting – Conclusion
For other hunting laws and regulations, please see our page of US Deer Hunting. We hope this information on Kansas deer hunting was useful, and that you continue to enjoy the sport.